London Student

Everything you need to know about the UCU strikes

The UCU strikes are set to go ahead but what does this mean for students?

Which universities will be affected?

61 universities across the country would be affected by the strike. Out of them, twelve are in London: Birkbeck, Brunel, City, Courtauld Institute, Goldsmiths, Imperial, KCL, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Queen Mary, Royal Holloway, SOAS and UCL.

Not all staff members at universities are UCU members. It is up to their discretion whether to stand in solidarity with their striking colleagues or carry on with classes as usual.

When are the strikes supposed to take place?

Due to academic calendars, four universities – including King’s College London – will not be starting the strike with other universities. If the strike continues, then lecturers will be striking on : 

What will happen on strike days?

Why are UCU members striking?

What does this mean for students?

Are the strikes definitely going ahead?